Connecticut Marriage Law

Blood Test:     NO LONGER REQUIRED!!!

Connecticut was one of the last states in the Union to require premarital syphilis and rubella screening.  That State of Connecticut finally heeded the counsel of the Centers for Disease Control Prevention (CDC) and repealed mandatory blood test effective 1 October 2003.

Marriage Licenses:

All Marriage Licenses may be obtained at the office of the Town or City Clerk or Registrar of Vital Statistics in the  Municipality (City or Town) where the ceremony will take place.

The couple must appear together and present photo identification.

Applicants 18 years of age or over do not require parental consent to marry or be united in a civil union in Connecticut.  If applicant is under 18, written consent of the parent or guardian is required.  If applicant is 16 years of age or younger, the applicant must have the written consent of the Judge of Probate.  The probate consent can be found on the back of the marriage license.

The fee for a marriage license is $35.00.  The license must be used within 65 days of being issued.

Have License at Ceremony:

The couple must have the license and present it to the officiant before the ceremony begins.

Number of Witnesses Needed:     NONE!!!

Connecticut State Statues do not require witnesses for the ceremony.  The marriage  is performed by an official empowered by statute to do so.  Different religions may require a varying number of witnesses.

After the Ceremony:

It is the responsibility of the officiant to register the license with the Town/City Clerk or Registrar of Vital Statistics.  The couple can obtain an copy of the license from the Office for a $20.00 fee.

Marriage Officiants:

In Connecticut, marriages may be performed only by a Justice of the State Supreme Court, a Superior Court Judge, a Judge of Probate, a Justice of the Peace or an ordained clergy person properly licensed in the State of Connecticut.

The Honorable
Steven R. Mullins